Guide to Compression Levels

15-20 mmHg: Over the Counter

Great for daily wear, travel, and sports, these easy to wear compression stockings help improve circulation without being too tight on your legs. 15-20 mmHg compression garments come in a variety of materials to fit any lifestyle.

20-30 mmHg: Medical Grade Class 1

Ideal for varicose veins, spider veins, swelling (edema) and after surgery. You don't have to have a condition to wear 20-30 mmHg. People looking for a bit more support than the 15-20 mmHg usually choose to wear 20-30 mmHg.

30-40 mmHg: Medical Grade Class 2

This stronger level of compression is recommended for blood clots (DVT), lymphedema, severe swelling (edema), severe varicose veins and post surgery.

40-50 mmHg: Medical Grade Class 3

This very strong compression is for individuals who are under the care of their doctor and have a good understanding of their health and compression. Usually for patients with severe lymphedema, severe edema, and severe venous stasis.

What does "mmHg" stand for?

The medical abbreviation "mmHg" stands for "millimeters of Mercury", which is a unit of measurement for pressure. It's the same unit of measure when you take your blood pressure. Compression stockings use a range for how much pressure it provides because the compression changes depending on your size.

1 Response

Eduardo Ambros
Eduardo Ambros

March 14, 2013

Not everybody, surgeons included, can relate mmHg compression to the terms light, medium, firm, and high. Perhaps a clarification on this matter will allow surgical supply stores to better understand prescriptions and serve the patient without runarounds asking compression levels.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.